Forum Mac-Video

Modify default button with myDVDEdit
Forum Index -> Questions
Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Piero

PostPosted: Sat 27 May 2006, 09:05 Reply with quote

First of all, very impressive work!
And I have my first question, for sure because I have no experience in DVD structure.

I want to modify the default button that appears in menus of a DVD created by iDVD: as you probably know there is no control in iDVD over this and sometimes results are quite random (every menu has a different default, never the top button...)

So I followed the instructions: copied the VIDEO_TS folder to the Desktop, changed all permissions within the folder to read/write. I made a test that worked: with VMG Menu selected I could move one button (the invisible rectangle) in the Buttons area with Edit, and use it in the DVD Player.

But I could do nothing with the selection of the default button.
I presumed the default button is identified by the "First Number" value in the Buttons area.
What I did: the button was not defined (dash), I changed it, saved, but whatever value I put (-,1,2,3 - buttons in that menu are 3) both the DVD Player and myDVDEdit itself always start from the original button.
So my questions are:
- First Number is supposed to identify the default button selected in a menu ?
- if so what I'm doing wrong ?
- what's the use of "Numerical" right below ?

Thanks a lot
Piero
Jerome
Administrator
Administrator   

PostPosted: Sat 27 May 2006, 11:40 Reply with quote

Hi piero.

As always with the DVD format, is not so simple.

- First number is the number of the first button (not the default) in the button list. If you change this number, the risk is nothing works anymore. If you set this option to 2, that's meens that button 1 cannot works anymore. That's the theory. In the fact, many DVD player cannot use it Smile, so why display this option ? because it exist.