Forum Index


Support myDVDEdit

Register Register
Log in Log in

Search Search
FAQ FAQ



--- Links ---
MacEtVideo
VideoHelp
Forum Mac-Video
 
Is it possible to...
Forum Index -> Questions
Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lledrith
Beta tester
Beta tester   



Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:27 Reply with quote

- put several actions on a button? For instance, having a button that, once pushed, do an action (such as activate some subtitle) then return to main menu (or to current playing video)

- put an action on a button to return to main menu

- put an action on a button that will continue the current playing video. So the user will be able to access the menu to change subtitle, then return to the video

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerome
Administrator
Administrator   



Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 466
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:39 Reply with quote

Lledrith wrote:
- put several actions on a button? For instance, having a button that, once pushed, do an action (such as activate some subtitle) then return to main menu (or to current playing video)

- put an action on a button to return to main menu

- put an action on a button that will continue the current playing video. So the user will be able to access the menu to change subtitle, then return to the video

Thanks


You can set only one command by button, but this command can be a Link to a other PGC, and this one can contains up to 128 commands.

To return to the main menu, the command is generaly Jump VMG Menu Title but that could differ in some rare cases.

To change the subtitle, you have to use the Set stream command.
To go back to the playing video, use the command Resume. Warning, this command must only be used if the video have been already started before, otherwise the player could freeze.

Jerome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lledrith
Beta tester
Beta tester   



Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:41 Reply with quote

Thanks.

So is there a way to test if a video has been started and then resume, and if not then return to main menu ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerome
Administrator
Administrator   



Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 466
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:48 Reply with quote

Not without adding code.

You have to set a register to indicate that your video is started (in the pre-commands of the Title PGC) and reset this register at the end.

Then you could know if you can resume the video or play it from the begining by testing this register.

You should too create a empty title (with only one blank cell) and call this title from FirstPlay before calling the main menu. This method eliminate all risks of DVD player freeze.

Jerome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lledrith
Beta tester
Beta tester   



Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:53 Reply with quote

The first play blank stuff is another way of doing this? I mean if I do this I do not need to test the resume stuff ? (so this mean you should have used "could" instead of "should" isn't it?

And what about if I just call the video from the button ? I mean, will the dvd player resume the video or does it start back from the beginning ?

And about subtitles, we could call subtitles, but can we desactivate them as well from a menu button?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerome
Administrator
Administrator   



Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 466
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 22:29 Reply with quote

The Resume command return to the last video previously played, but if no video was played, the player freeze.
If you dont test if the main title was playing before calling the Resume command, the player risk to not play anything.

of course soubtitles can be desabled by commands. with Set Streams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lledrith
Beta tester
Beta tester   



Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2009, 00:38 Reply with quote

About subtitles, what I do not understand is that when I edit the button, I do not have the "set stream" command available.

Only commands I have are (look at the screenshot)


Thanks

Edit :
and about a button to jump to a given chapter of a track... I guess the command is jump / call, then jump vts menu, then we choose the track to jump to... and we select chapter as type... but where do we select the chapter to jump to ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerome
Administrator
Administrator   



Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 466
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2009, 00:48 Reply with quote

Because this command is only available in VTS or VTS Menu. You should be in VMG Menu.

Jerome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jerome
Administrator
Administrator   



Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 466
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2009, 00:55 Reply with quote

To jump directly to a specific chapter, you must be in the corresponding VTS Menu and call



You can call a title from VMG Menu, but only from the begining.

Jerome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lledrith
Beta tester
Beta tester   



Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2009, 08:19 Reply with quote

Jérôme wrote:
Because this command is only available in VTS or VTS Menu. You should be in VMG Menu.

Jérôme


But my subtitle menus is in a submenu, and the submenu is considered as a pgc from the vmg menu, so how can I do?

So all my buttons are in the VMG menu. The main menu is the PGC1 of VMG menu, my chapter submenu is the PGC2 of the same VMG menu, my subtitle menu is the PGC3, and my bonus submenu is the PGC4, of the same VMG menu.

(I have created the DVD with moviegate)

Any solution?

Thanks

PS : or do you mean I can do the call from within the post cmds of the vts menu I have jumped to ?

But the problem is that the button leads to nothing, I mean to a video I have used just to setup the button. So what can I do ? I can in the vmg menu set a jump to vts menu 1, chapter, but then if I have 10 chapters, then I have ten buttons that will call the same vts, how can I do in the vts menu to jump to the good chapter according the button that I used to go there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerome
Administrator
Administrator   



Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 466
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2009, 10:01 Reply with quote

Set a register with the correct subpicture value

R15 = 0x81 (or something else)

and set the subpicture stream in the pre-command of your title

subpicture = R15

Jerome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lledrith
Beta tester
Beta tester   



Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2009, 17:37 Reply with quote

A register is some kind of a variable isn't it?

And I can do the same for the chapter? Or is it a bit different?

I have so in the PGC2 of my VMG menu a submenu with 7 buttons for chapters. Those buttons are for now linked to 7 video files, but those video files are not important, they are 7 seconds black video.
I would like to link for instance the 3rd button to the 3rd chapter of my main video file. How do I do that? So I would like that when the user click on this button it will launch the video file (the main and only real one) and go to the 3rd chapter.

Thanks

PS : btw knowing the correct subpicture number for a given subtitle is easy to do? (I'm at work now I cannot check on my project)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerome
Administrator
Administrator   



Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 466
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2009, 19:01 Reply with quote

One method is to set a register in the button command
ie:

R0 = 1, Link Pgc 2

with a different value in R0 for each button, then you can do anything you want by testing the R0 value.

You can also do a Link Pgc x, with a different Pgc number depending of what you want to do.




I can't write the code at your place.

If you must ask a question for each line, it's with no end.

Please try to learn by yourself how commands works.

The best method is to debug an existing DVD that does what you want.

I know it's not always easy, but try.

Jerome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lledrith
Beta tester
Beta tester   



Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2009, 19:35 Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, I have found a way to do this...
On the button in my VMG menu I have setup a register R0 to the value (2) (for the 2nd chapter) then link a new pgc I have created, the pgc 5.

In the precommand of pgc 5 I have setup jump vts menu, vtsm 1, type chapter.

And if the pgc 1 chapter of the vts menu 1 I have setup a :

if R0 == (2) then jump vtstitle / chapter, title 1, chapter 2.

And it works fine.

Now I have to do this for the other 6 menus...

(it works, except that I dunno why but it works only for the first 3 chapters, not the others, and that now my whole DVD directory has disappeared, dunno why, when I have quit mydvdedit, so I have to start again ^^)

EDIT : very strange, the first three "if" works, but after that it does not... is there a max number of "if" per pgc?

EDIT 2 : ok I have found another solution to bypass this issue. (I will not explain all this here and now, too long, but if you would like, I can)


BUT... I still need to find out how to find the correct subtitle value Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Forum Index -> Questions Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2018 phpBB Group