Forum Index


Support myDVDEdit

Register Register
Log in Log in

Search Search
FAQ FAQ



--- Links ---
MacEtVideo
VideoHelp
Forum Mac-Video
 
Can myDVDEdit set the layer break point on a dual layer burn
Forum Index -> Questions
Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
skunkworks
Member
Member   



Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 04:17 Reply with quote

Hello Jérôme,

I am (perhaps foolishly) about to enter the world of Dual-Layer DVD-Video burning. The main issue seems to be how to set the layer break point. While pro-level programs like DVD Studio Pro let you control this, consumer level programs like iDVD do not (they have some auto-algorithm that selects the break point).

Can I set the layer break point in myDVDEdit? (assume OTP mode).

Assume I encode a project to a VIDEO_TS file on my hard disk. If I choose a legal Cell (ie, one that is at least 50% into the program by number of sectors) and mark it "Seamless Playback: No." using myDVDEDit, is that sufficient?

Can I identify which Cells are legal for setting the break point using myDVDEdit? If so how?

If I use a program like Toast to then burn the DVD from the VIDEO_TS folder, will Toast respect that Cell marker and burn the layer change at the right point?

Thanks.
_________________
--
Brendan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerome
Administrator
Administrator   



Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 466
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 05:08 Reply with quote

Hi

Yes, and no.

the layer break point is not a option in the IFO file.
With professionnal programs, the DVD editor is often the DVD burning program too. In this case, the user can control the layer break point position... a little.

Many conditions must be respected:
1) The layer break point is always at the begin of a cell.
2) This cell have the STC discontinuity option on. (not a obligation, but better)
3) This cell have the Seamless playback option off. (sometime this condition is not respected, that's not normal)
4) Layer A must countains more data than layer B.

conditions 1, 2, 3 are automaticaly managed by the autoring program.
The user can set the layer break point position, but as condition 4 must be respected, the choice can be limited.

Now in our case. if you use Toast, yes, it looking for a cell with these conditions. I'm not sure but I think if it dont find it, it will create it, and that can be very difficulte (new cell with a new VobId, many tables to update).

With myDVDEdit, you can change the Seamless playback option of a cell, but as you cannot split a cell and easily know where is the middle of the DVD, this is not really easy.

Jerome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Forum Index -> Questions Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2018 phpBB Group